Tips & Tricks

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

by Adrianna Adarme

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

I went through a phase when I wanted to learn the pitch-perfect method for frying French fries. I’ve always subscribed to the twice-fried method. It results in a pretty good fried French fry: a soft interior and crispy exterior. Then I visited April Bloomfield’s New York restaurant, The Breslin, and was blown away by her famous thrice-fried French fries. It was then that I decided I’m leaving French fries to a restaurant-only event. Between the big pot of hot oil and the fact that now I should definitely fry them three times, they’ve fallen into that category that isn’t homemade. Except when I’m craving them AND I can turn to my trusty ol’ oven.

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

These sweet potatoes are cut up into spears and baked in the oven until tender. Chipotle and sweet potatoes are maybe one of my favorite flavor combinations ever. The smokiness from the chipotle peppers in adobo and the, well, sweetness from the sweet potato is glorious. This recipe couldn’t be simpler. It’s neither fussy nor time-consuming but that doesn’t mean it isn’t very tasty. But this recipe still doesn’t mean that I won’t be visiting The Breslin the next time I’m in New York.

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Mayonnaise

Ingredients
3 to 4 sweet potatoes, cut into matchsticks/spears
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt
1/2 cup mayonnaise
3 to 4 chipotle peppers in adobo
Directions
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. On a baking sheet, spread out sweet potato spears. Drizzle them with olive oil and sprinkle with a few pinches of salt. Transfer to the oven to roast for 20 to 30 minutes, until tender when poked with a fork.
Meanwhile, add your chipotle peppers to a food processor and pulse until minced. Add the mayonnaise and pulse again until combined. Give it a taste and salt according to your liking.
Remove the sweet potato spears from the oven and serve alongside the chipotle mayonnaise.
Yield: 3-4 servings

source: PBS Food

